Yellow Robe - A Real Buddhist's Journal

Jun 12th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

What is Bodhisatta

E-mail Print PDF

The term ‘ Bodhisatta’ has been widely misused in various schools that claimed to be Buddhism. An example would be the schools that exist in Asia that call everyone a Bodhisatta.

In the authentic teachings of the Buddha, the name Bodhisatta is given to a being who aspires to Bodhi or Enlightenment. In the developed form of the ideas regarding Bodhisattas, a Bodhisatta's career started with his making a resolution before a Buddha (abhinīhārakarana or mūlapanidhāna) to become a Buddha for the welfare and liberation of all creatures. The following conditions also bind:

  • (1) a human being,
  • (2) a male,
  • (3) sufficiently developed to become an arahant in that very birth,
  • (4) a recluse at the time of the declaration,
  • (5) he should declare his resolve before a Buddha,
  • (6) should be possessed of attainments such as the jhānas,
  • (7) be prepared to sacrifice all, even life, and
  • (8) his resolution should be absolutely firm and unwavering.

In the case of Gotama Buddha, his abhinīhāra was made at Amaravātī in the presence of Dīpankara Buddha. His name at that time was Sumedha (q.v.). The Buddha, before whom the abhinīhāra is made, looks into the future and, if satisfied, declares the fulfilment of the resolve, mentioning the particulars of such fulfilment. This declaration is called vyākarana, and is made also by all subsequent Buddhas whom the Bodhisatta may meet during his career. Having received his first vyākarana, the Bodhisatta proceeds to investigate the qualities which should be acquired by him for the purposes of Buddhahood (buddhakārakadhammā), in accordance with the custom of previous Bodhisattas. These he discovers to be ten in number, the Ten Perfection, (dasapārami):

    1. Dāna parami : generosity, giving of oneself
    2. Sīla parami : virtue, morality, proper conduct
    3. Nekkhamma parami : renunciation
    4. Paññā parami : transcendental wisdom, insight
    5. Viriya (also spelt vīriya) parami : energy, diligence, vigour, effort
    6. Khanti parami : patience, tolerance, forbearance, acceptance, endurance
    7. Sacca parami : truthfulness, honesty
    8. Adhiṭṭhāna (adhitthana) parami : determination, resolution
    9. Mettā parami : loving-kindness
    10. Upekkhā (also spelt upekhā) parami : equanimity, serenity


Hot Topic


The Sixth Buddhist Council

The Sixth Council was held in Kaba Aye in Yangon (Rangoon) in 1954, eighty-three years ...


The Fifth Buddhist Council

The Fifth Council took place in Mandalay, Burma (Myanmar) in 1871 A.D. in the reign of ...


The Fourth Buddhist Council

The Fourth Council was held in Tambapanni (Sri Lanka) in 29 B.C. under the patronage of...


The Third Buddhist Council

The Third Council was held primarily to rid the Sangha of corruption and bogus monks wh...


The Second Buddhist Council

The Second Council was called one hundred years after the Buddha's Parinibbāna in orde...

Preserve this Website


" The foolish man who, on account of his wrong views, scorns the teaching of the homage-worthy Noble Ones (Ariyas) who live according to the Dhamma, is like the bamboo which bears fruit for its own destruction. "

The Dhammapada

Social Bookmark

Yellow Robe Newsletter

Visitors Counter

This weekThis week259
This monthThis month1121